Fermup The Fermented Food Podcast

Episode 11: Do it for the children

Does the “Greek” in Greek yogurt refer to process or place of origin? According to a UK lawsuit by FAGE, it’s the latter. This week we talk about the popularity of commercial greek yogurt and how easy and inexpensive it is to ferment it yourself (and how simple it is to make frozen Greek yogurt too).

Also this week: have you ever tried black fermented garlic? The concept is old but one Canadian entrepreneur is about to bring high quality black fermented garlic to top chefs in July. If you want some, you can pre-order too.

We finish up our conversation with a quick look at the cleanliness of US Children versus Bangladesh children and how that influences gut microbiota.

Show notes:

[GreenWhey to open food waste-to-energy project JS Online](http://m.jsonline.com/more/business/greenwhey-to-open-28-million-food-wastetoenergy-project-gi8qo71-191938931.html)
[Powder Coating Glass Jars Instructables](http://www.instructables.com/id/Powder-Coating-Glass-Glass-Container/?ALLSTEPS)
[Ottowa food entrepreneur Andrew Craig bets on black fermented garlic Ottawa Citizen](http://www.ottawacitizen.com/life/food/Ottawa+food+entrepreneur+Andrew+Craig+bets+black+fermented+garlic/7991351/story.html)
[Pre-order your own black garlic Black Garlic](http://www.blackgarlic.ca/)
[Danone Danio yogurt slapped with UK Greek yogurt labelling injunction Dairy Reporter](http://www.dairyreporter.com/Manufacturers/Danone-Danio-yogurt-slapped-with-UK-Greek-yogurt-labelling-injunction)
[Frozen Greek yogurt packs protein rich punch Supermarket News](http://supermarketnews.com/dairy/frozen-greek-yogurt-packs-protein-rich-punch)
[Strawberry Frozen Greek Yogurt Recipe Two Peas and their pod](http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/strawberry-frozen-yogurt/)
[Greek yogurt popular with adults, will kids bite? CBS News](http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-505145_162-57570307/greek-yogurt-popular-with-adults-will-kids-bite/)
[Slumdog Microbiome More Diverse Human Food Project](http://humanfoodproject.com/slumdog-microbiome-more-diverse/)